Geographical Location

Tanzania is in East Africa on the Indian Ocean about one degree south of the Equator. It is the union of two historical countries, Tanganyika and Zanzibar. The United Republic of Tanzania was formed in 1964 through the union of two independent states, namely the Tanganyika and the Peoples' Republic of Zanzibar.

To the north are Uganda and Kenya; to the west, Burundi, Rwanda, and Congo; and to the south, Mozambique, Zambia, and Malawi. Its area is three times than of New Mexico. Tanzania contains three of Africa's best-known lakes—Victoria in the north, Tanganyika in the west, and Nyasa in the south. Mount Kilimanjaro in the north, 19,340 ft (5,895 m), is the highest point on the continent. The island of Zanzibar is separated from the mainland by a 22-mile channel.
Tanzania is the most politically stable and peaceful country and this is what qualifies it as host country to many international organizations’ office centre and a multitude of conferences in Eastern and Central Africa region.

Short History

Arab traders first began to colonize the area in 700. Portuguese explorers reached the coastal regions in 1500 and held some control until the 17th century, when the sultan of Oman took power. With what are now Burundi and Rwanda, Tanganyika became the colony of German East Africa in 1885. After World War I, it was administered by Britain under a League of Nations mandate and later as a UN trust territory.

Although not mentioned in old histories until the 12th century, Zanzibar was always believed to have had connections with southern Arabia. The Portuguese made it one of their tributaries in 1503 and later established a trading post, but they were driven from Oman by Arabs in 1698. Zanzibar was declared independent of Oman in 1861 and, in 1890, it became a British protectorate. Tanganyika became independent on Dec. 9, 1961; Zanzibar on Dec. 10, 1963. On April 26, 1964, the two nations merged into the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar. The name was changed to United Republic of Tanzania six months later.

The peaceful Tanzania

Well, the one thing that does bind Tanzania’s diverse attractions is, of course, its people, who take justifiable pride in their deeply ingrained national mood of tolerance and peacefulness. Indeed, Tanzania, for all its ethnic diversity, is practically unique in Africa in having navigated a succession of modern political hurdles – the transformation from colonial dependency to independent nation, from socialist state to free-market economy, from mono-partyism to fully-fledged democracy - without ever experiencing or sustained civil or ethnic unrest. Certainly, it is such images that tend to spring to mind when one thinks of Tanzania.

Tanzania at a glance

Capital City:

Dar Es Salaam


945,087 Km2


East Africa | Latitude: 6º00´ South of the Equator |
Longitude: 35º00´ East of Greenwich Meridian

Bordering Countries:

North: Uganda & Kenya | West: Burundi, Rwanda & Congo;
South: Mozambique, Zambia, and Malawi

Time Zone:

East African Time (EAT) – UTC/GMT + 3 hours


Swahili, English (both official),  Arabic & Many local languages


49,639,138 (Est 2014), (growth rate: 2.8%)

Ethnicity/ Race:

Native African 99% (includes 95% Bantu, consisting of more than 130 tribes), Asian, European, and Arab 1%.

Literacy Rate:

78.1% (2012 est.)


Tanzania Shillings (TZS)


Tropical Climate, with regional variations due to topography. Average temperature:  20 – 310C,

  • Coolest periods are from June to September.
  • The long rains from April through to May.
  • Areas with high altitude are cooler.


Mainland: Christian 30%, Islam 35%, indigenous 35%; Zanzibar: more than 99% Islam

Country Code


International Cooperation Memberships

  • Commonwealth
  • East African Community (EAC)
  • Southern African Development Community (SADC)
  • African Union (AU)

More facts about Tanzania

  • Politically stable since independence
  • Tanzania is the safest destination in the region
  • Four Term Former President H.E. Dr. Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete won the 2015 Good Governance in Africa Award.
  • Best Safari Country of Africa. By the Netherlands Safari 2015
  • Home of the three out of seven Natural Wonders of Africa (Mount Kilimanjaro, Ngorongoro Crater & Animal migration in the Serengeti National Park.
  • 16 National Parks
  • 33 game reserves
  • 3 marine parks
  • 38 game controlled areas
  • The Cradle of human kind ( Olduvai Historical Site)
  • More than 800 Km coast line of Palm Fringed white sand Beaches.
  • Mpingo trees also known as Africa black wood trees, the most expensive hard wood tree in world commonly seen in Tanzania.
  • The largest concentration of wildlife animals per square meter, with more than 4,000,000 wild animals and representative of 430 species and subspecies.
  • The home of coconut club, the largest club in the world and reportedly one of the most delicious.
  • The most impressive wildlife migration in the world out at sea, when every year at least 7000 humpback whales (Megapteran novaeanglice) swim peacefully northwards through Tanzania waters.
  • The home of Tanzanite Gemstones, which are 1000 times rarer than the diamonds.